atex inspections ltd

Independent Verification Specialists

hazardous Area Inspecions

FPSO Inspections

Case Studies

Our Services






An ISO9001

Certified Company

Ex-logo atex logo


IECEX CompexExS_web-1 bonga small Picture1 ISO 9001

If we are undertaking ATEX, DSEAR or EEHA inspections, IEC Standards will be followed. The International Electrotechnical Commission standards have become the industry standard for hazardous area inspections and they are used around the world by all oil & gas companies, onshore and offshore. EEHA and AS/NZS Australian standards also follow these standards.


We use IEC 60079-17 (The inspection and maintenance of electrical installations in hazardous areas) for all our inspections along with the following relevant associated standards.


IEC 60079-0   Part 0: Equipment – General requirements

IEC 60079-1   Part 1: Equipment protection by flameproof enclosures "d"

IEC 60079-2   Part 2: Equipment protection by pressurized enclosures "p"

IEC 60079-7   Part 7: Equipment protection by increased safety “e”

IEC 60079-10 Part 10: Classification of hazardous areas

IEC 60079-11 Part 11: Equipment protection by intrinsic safety "i"

IEC 60079-14 Part 14: Electrical installations in hazardous areas (other than mines)

IEC 60079-15 Part 15: Construction, test and marking of type of protection "n" electrical apparatus    


IEC 60079-17 Inspections